EC5026 for Parkinson's Disease (STEP Study)

This study is testing an oral drug called EC5026 for people with Parkinson's Disease. Researchers want to see if EC5026 is safe and how well your body handles it. They will also look at how much of the drug gets into your blood and the fluid around your brain. Another goal is to understand how EC5026 works in the body and if it might help improve Parkinson's symptoms. You could be eligible if you are an adult between 50 and 80 years old with Parkinson's Disease. This study is currently recruiting 18 participants.

Study design
This is a randomized, double-blind study, meaning some participants will receive EC5026 and others a placebo (an inactive substance), and neither you nor your doctor will know which you are receiving. It will involve about 18 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Safety and tolerability will be measured for 56 days.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07142044

Safety, Tolerability and Exploratory Efficacy of EC5026 in Parkinson's Disease (STEP Study)

Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 50–80InterventionalTreatment
EicOsis Human Health Inc.
~18 participants
Updated 2026-07-10 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:EC5026 oral tabletPlacebo

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Incidence of Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAE) [Safety and Tolerability]
Measured over 56 days
Parkinson's Disease (PD)

NCT07142044

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of California Davis

    Sacramento, Californiano site contact published

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • William K Schmidt, PhD · STUDY_DIRECTOR · EicOsis Human Health Inc.
  • Lin Zhang, MD, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · UC Davis Health

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Exclusion

Abnormal plasma renin and/or aldosterone value
Morning cortisol level \<5 mcg/dL
ACTH stimulated cortisol levels \<18 mcg/dL at 60 minutes after ACTH injection at screening, or
Abnormal FSH, LH, testosterone (for males), or estradiol (for females, unless post-menopausal) 14. Participants who have used any topical, oral, or intravenous exogenous corticosteroids within 12 weeks and/or intra-articular exogenous corticosteroids within 6 months prior to the start of the trial, or who plan on using them during the study. 15. Participants who have used chemotherapy agents, or who have a personal history of cancer or cancer in first degree relatives suggestive of elevated cancer risk, other than nonmetastatic skin cancer that has been completely excised, within 5 years prior to Screening. 16. Participants who have used (within 14 days of randomization) or plan on using during the duration of the study any prescription or over-the-counter drugs that are moderate or strong CYP3A4 inducers or inhibitors. 17. Participants who have used (within 14 days of randomization) or plan on using during the duration of the study any dietary aids, supplements, or foods that are moderate or strong CYP3A4 inhibitors (e.g., grapefruit juice). 18. Participants with difficulty in swallowing oral medications 19. Participants who have used any other investigational drug within 1 month or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer, prior to enrollment. 20. Participants with a documented history of difficult lumbar puncture procedures, to the investigator's discretion.
  • Incidence of Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAE) [Safety and Tolerability]56 days

    All AEs reported or observed during the study will be recorded on the electronic case report forms (eCRF). Information to be collected includes drug treatment, type of event, time of onset, dosage, investigator-specified assessment of severity and relationship to study drug, time of resolution of the event, seriousness, any required treatment or evaluations, and outcome. Any AEs resulting from concurrent illnesses, reactions to concurrent illnesses, reactions to concurrent medications, or progression of disease states must also be reported. All AEs will be followed until they are resolved, stable, or judged by the investigator to be not clinically significant. The Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities will be used to code all AEs.