Local Anesthetic Concentration for Rebound Pain after Shoulder Surgery
This study is looking at how different concentrations of a local anesthetic (pain-numbing medicine) called bupivacaine affect "rebound pain" (pain that returns after the anesthetic wears off) in patients having shoulder replacement surgery. We are comparing two concentrations of bupivacaine (0.5% and 0.25%) to see if a lower concentration leads to less rebound pain 24 hours after surgery. You might be able to join if you are an adult (18 or older) having total shoulder replacement surgery and do not have certain chronic pain conditions or daily opioid use. The study aims to find out if one concentration is better at managing pain.
- Study design
- This is a randomized control study, meaning participants are randomly assigned to one of the two bupivacaine groups. The study plans to enroll 168 participants.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your pain will be assessed at 24, 48, and 72 hours after the intervention.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Effect of Local Anesthetic Concentration on Rebound Pain
At a glance
Conditions
NCT07146685
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
UVA Health
Charlottesville, Virginiastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Study leadership
- Leon N Grinman, DO · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · UVA
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Max NRS Pain Score at 24 hours24 hours after intervention
Pain intensity measured using the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS), a 0-10 scale where 0 indicates no pain and 10 indicates the worst pain imaginable. Higher scores indicate worse pain.