ULSC for Dermatomyositis/Polymyositis (IIM)
This study is looking at an investigational treatment called ULSC (umbilical-cord lining stem cells) for adults with Dermatomyositis or Polymyositis (DM/PM), also known as Idiopathic Inflammatory Myopathy (IIM). Researchers want to see if ULSC is safe and helps improve symptoms of DM/PM. You would receive ULSC or a placebo (a saline solution without cells) through an IV three times. The study will compare how people feel after receiving ULSC versus the placebo. To join, you must be at least 18 years old and have an active diagnosis of IIM, which includes certain blood test results like elevated Creatine Kinase (CK) or Aldolase.
- Study design
- This interventional study plans to enroll 40 participants. It compares ULSC to a placebo (a look-alike saline without cells).
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your safety will be monitored at each visit from Day 0, 7 days, and 30 days after each infusion, and all follow-up visits up to 12 months after the final treatment infusion.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Safety and Efficacy of ULSC on Disease Severity and Steroid Tapering in Participants With Dermatomyositis/ Polymyositis (DM/PM), Also Known as Idiopathic Inflammatory Myopathy (IIM)
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
2 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Michael Bubb, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Malcom Randall North Florida/South Georgia VA Medical Center
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
What this trial measures
- Safety based on Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) that begin during or following treatment infusion.Each visit from Day 0, 7 days, and 30 days after each infusion, and all follow-up visits up to 12 months after the final treatment infusion.
Cumulative listing of all AEs/SAEs per cohort with descriptive statistics for categorical variables and count variables to compare between ULSC and Placebo, with emphasis on All SAEs and AEs/SAEs suspected to be treatment infusion-related.
- Efficacy based on Total Improvement Score (TIS, expressed as continuous variable) in the 2016 ACR/EULAR Myositis Response CriteriaFrom baseline (i.e., before first dose per treatment) to 7 months (i.e., one month after the third/final dose per treatment) for each treatment group and each study period.
Total Improvement Score (TIS) as continuous variable (scale of 0 to 100 points) will be assessed; TIS is a weighted average of the sub-scores in the 6 core set measures that comprise the validated outcome measure in the 2016 ACR/EULAR Myositis Response Criteria.