Lumbar Erector Spinae Plane (ESP) Block for Pain Management

This study is looking at how well a nerve block called a Lumbar Erector Spinae Plane (ESP) block works to manage pain after spine surgery. Researchers are testing a combination of medications: ropivacaine (a numbing medicine similar to Novocaine), dexmedetomidine (a pain medicine that is not a narcotic), and iohexol (a contrast dye). You may be able to join if you are between 21 and 75 years old, have good kidney function (eGFR ≥ 60 mL/min), and are having lumbar spine fusion surgery involving no more than three levels. The main goal is to see how much pain you report 12 hours after surgery. The current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 32 participants. The phase of the study is not specified.
What's involved
You will have a catheter placed in your back for the ESP block. About an hour before surgery, the study medications will be injected, and you will undergo a QST procedure (a test of buzzing and temperature sensation) to check numb areas.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain will be measured 12 hours after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07174440

Contrast and Anesthetic Level With Lumbar Erector Spinae Plan (ESP) Block

Recruiting
NAAges 21–75InterventionalPrevention
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
~32 participants
Updated 2026-03-11 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Ropivacaine (Epidural analgesia)DexmedetomidineIohexolQST Procedure

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Verbal pain score as measured by the numerical rating scale (NRS)
Measured over 12 hours after surgery
Pain

NCT07174440

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohiostudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Salim Hayek, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Age range: Adult patients 21-75 years of age
ASA status: I-III
Planned lumbar spine fusion involving no more than three levels
Ability to ambulate prior to surgery

Exclusion

Previous lumbar spine surgery
Metastatic cancer with involvement of the lumbar spine
eGFR \< 60 mL/min/1.73m2
Active liver disease (hepatitis or cirrhosis)
Confirmed allergy to ropivacaine, dexmedetomidine or iohexol
Cognitive impairment resulting in inability to rate pain scores
Patients receiving 30 mg or more of morphine equivalent daily dosing preoperatively
Pregnancy
  • Verbal pain score as measured by the numerical rating scale (NRS)12 hours after surgery

    NRS rates pain intensity on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being no pain and 10 being worst possible pain.