Pulsed Field Ablation for Persistent Atrial Fibrillation
This study is comparing two ways to treat persistent atrial fibrillation (AF), a type of irregular heartbeat, using a procedure called pulsed field ablation (PFA). One approach uses the FARAPULSE Pulsed Field Ablation System along with the OptiMap System to target specific areas in the heart. The other approach uses the FARAPULSE Pulsed Field Ablation System to treat the pulmonary veins and the back wall of the left atrium. The study aims to see if the first approach is as safe and effective as the second for people with symptomatic, drug-resistant persistent AF. To join, you must be at least 18 years old and have persistent AF for more than 7 days but less than 365 days, confirmed by medical records and a 24-hour ECG. The study plans to enroll 699 participants.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study comparing two different pulsed field ablation methods. It plans to enroll 699 participants.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your safety will be checked for 60 days, and the treatment's effectiveness will be monitored for 365 days.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
A Global Study Comparing Pulsed Field Ablation With Electrographic Flow Mapping Versus Posterior Wall Ablation for Persistent Atrial Fibrillation
At a glance
Conditions
NCT07187115
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 15 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
Arrhythmia Research Group
Jonesboro, Arkansasno site contact published
AZORG
Aalst, Belgiumno site contact published
Christus Trinity Mother Frances Health System
Tyler, Texasno site contact published
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, Ohiono site contact published
Clinica Universidad de Navarra
Pamplona, Navarre, Spainno site contact published
Emory University Hospital
Atlanta, Georgiano site contact published
Hartcentrum Hasselt Jessa Ziekenhuis Campus Virga Jesse
Hasselt, Belgiumno site contact published
Mount Sinai Medical Center
New York, New Yorkno site contact published
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Who to contact
This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Primary Safety Endpoint60 Days
The primary safety endpoint is the rate of ITT subjects in the PVI+EGF arm with one or more of the following serious device- or procedure-related Composite Adverse Events (CAEs) assessed through 60 days following the Index Procedure.
- Primary Effectiveness Endpoint365 Days
The primary effectiveness endpoint is the rate of ITT subjects with treatment success in the PVI+EGF arm vs. the PVI+PWA control arm through Day 365, aiming to demonstrate non-inferiority of PVI+EGF compared to the PVI+PWA control.