Zynrelef vs. Adductor Canal Block for Knee Osteoarthritis

This study is comparing two ways to manage pain after total knee replacement surgery for knee osteoarthritis. One group will receive ZYNRELEF, an FDA-approved medicine applied during surgery that combines bupivacaine and meloxicam to provide pain relief for up to 72 hours. The other group will receive an adductor canal block, which is an injection of ropivacaine (a pain-numbing medicine) near the knee, guided by ultrasound. The study aims to see which method leads to less use of opioid pain medication (measured as Milligram Morphine Equivalents or MME) in the 72 hours after surgery. You may be able to join if you are over 18, having a single total knee replacement, and can give informed consent. The current status of this study is unclear.

Study design
This interventional study plans to enroll 120 participants. It compares two different pain management approaches after total knee replacement surgery.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain medication use will be measured at 12, 16, 20, 24, 48, and 72 hours after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07216586

Zynrelef Versus Adductor Canal Block

Not Yet Recruiting
PHASE4Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
University of Miami
~120 participants
Updated 2026-06-12 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:ZYNRELEF 400Mg-12Mg Extended-Release SolutionUltrasound-Guided Adductor Canal BlockRopivacaine 0.5% Injectable Solution

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Mean Milligram Morphine Equivalents (MME)
Measured over 12, 16, 20, 24, 48, and 72 hours after surgery
Knee Osteoarthritis
Arthritis Knee

NCT07216586

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Miami

    Miami, Floridastudy coordinator listed

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Colin A. McNamara, MD,MBA · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Miami

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patients \> 18 years of age
Patients undergoing primary, unilateral total knee arthroplasty
Ability to provide informed consent

Exclusion

Individuals under the age of 18
Pregnant women
Prisoners
Adults unable to consent
American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical Status score greater than 3
Patients taking any of the following medications before surgery:
Long-acting opioids within 3 days
Any opioids taken within 24 hours
Bupivacaine HCL within 5 days
Chronic opioid use or patients with known or suspected daily use of opioids for seven or more consecutive days within 6 months before their scheduled surgery
Illicit drug use determined by social history
Alcohol abuse determined by a CAGE Substance Abuse Screening Tool Score of at least two or greater
Patients with a known hypersensitivity (e.g., anaphylactic reactions and serious skin reactions) to any local anesthetic agent of the amide-type, NSAIDs, or to any of the other components of ZYNRELEF
Patients with a history of asthma, urticaria, or other allergic-type reactions after taking aspirin or other NSAIDs. Severe, sometimes fatal, anaphylactic reactions to NSAIDs have been reported in such patients
  • Mean Milligram Morphine Equivalents (MME)12, 16, 20, 24, 48, and 72 hours after surgery

    Mean cumulative milligram morphine equivalents (MME) administered at 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 48, and 72 hours following total knee arthroplasty (TKA). Values will be compared between patients receiving Zynrelef and those receiving adductor canal block (ACB)