Pain Control in Minimally Invasive Lung Cancer Surgery
This study is looking at different ways to manage pain after minimally invasive lung cancer surgery. Researchers are comparing three approaches using a long-acting pain medication called Liposomal Bupivacaine (Exparel®). You might receive Exparel® as an intercostal nerve block (targeting nerves between your ribs), a serratus anterior plane block (targeting nerves in your chest wall), or a combination of both. The main goal is to see which method best reduces pain during the first few days after surgery. They also want to understand how these pain control methods affect your hospital stay, costs, and overall quality of life. Adults aged 18 and older who are having elective minimally invasive lung surgery are eligible to participate.
- Study design
- This interventional study plans to enroll 300 participants. It compares three different ways of giving pain medication after surgery.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Pain levels will be measured from the day of surgery up to three days after, if you are still in the hospital.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Combination Versus Alone Liposomal Bupivacaine Blocks in Minimally Invasive Thoracic Surgery-1
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Inderpal S Sarkaria, MD, MBA · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- NRS AUC 72Post-operative day 0 to post-operative day 3 (if still present in the hospital)
The investigators will obtain the NRS NRS AUC 72 (units: NRS·hours) (units 0-10) from time 0, entry into the recovery room, to 72 hours after entry into the recovery room. Pain will be assessed by the nursing staff, typically every 4 hours, and by research staff at least once on post-operative days 1-3. The times t0,t1,…,tk in hours within the range of 0 to 72 hours will correspond to NRS scores y0,y1,…,yk. Using the trapezoidal rule over the observed interval (assuming irregular and irregular timing), where: AUC=∑i((yi+yi+1)/2)(ti+1-ti), the maximum NRS·hours would be 10 x 72 hours + 720. If an individual patient measurement is taken off-schedule, the actual time stamps will be utilized. The trapezoidal rule naturally accommodates irregular spacing. If a patient is discharged early, or there is missing data, the AUC will be computed over the observed intervals and reported as time-standardized AUC = (AUC over observed time)/observed hours x 72.
- Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)Post-operative day 0 to post-operative day 3 (if still present in the hospital)
A pain numeric rating scale will be administered to all patients in the trial from post-operative day 0 to post-operative day 3 in the hospital. Study personnel will gather a NRS value once a day for post-operative day 1-3 and nursing staff will gather a NRS value multiple times a day, typically every 4 hours, per their protocol. Average and maximum values (Likert scale 0-10) will be recorded each day.