Post-Surgery Pain Management Study

This study is looking at different ways to manage pain after certain surgeries. It compares using a continuous pain pump (ambIT Infusion Pump) that delivers medication like Ropivacaine 0.2% after surgery, versus a nerve block given before surgery using Bupivacaine 0.5% or 1.3% liposomal bupivacaine (Exparel). The study aims to see which method is more effective at reducing your pain levels, measured using pain scores, over a two-week period after surgery. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older and having specific knee or shoulder surgeries, such as ACL reconstruction or rotator cuff repair. The study plans to enroll 80 participants, but its current status is unclear.

Study design
This is a pragmatic, prospective cluster randomized trial, meaning participants are grouped over time. It plans to enroll 80 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain levels will be measured on postoperative days 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 10, and 14.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07349810

Post Operative Infusion Pump Pain Study

Recruiting
PHASE4Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
~80 participants
Updated 2026-01-21 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Bupivacaine 0.5% Injectable SolutionRopivacaine 0.2% Injectable Solution1.3% liposomal bupivacaine (Exparel)ambIT Infusion Pump

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
The effectiveness of postoperative infusion pain pump versus preoperative nerve block in reducing visual analog pain scores/numerical pain rating scale (VAS/NPRS) in the postoperative period
Measured over Postoperative days 0, 1,2,3,4,7,10, 14
Post Operative Pain
1 sites across 1 states
New Jersey1

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Age 18 years or older
ACL reconstruction
Open shoulder labrum or rotator cuff surgery
Arthroscopic rotator cuff repair
Proximal or distal patellar realignment surgery
Open knee arthrotomy cases - Inside out meniscus repair, OCA, MAT

Exclusion

Age under 18 years
Body mass index of greater than 40 kg/m2
American Society of Anesthesiologist class 4 physical status or greater
History of drug or alcohol abuse
Chronic opioid use/pain management doctor
Allergy to bupivacaine, ropivacaine or pharmacologic analogs
Any coagulation disorders
Existing nerve injury
Severe bronchopulmonary disease
Pregnant patients
  • The effectiveness of postoperative infusion pain pump versus preoperative nerve block in reducing visual analog pain scores/numerical pain rating scale (VAS/NPRS) in the postoperative periodPostoperative days 0, 1,2,3,4,7,10, 14

    Compare the effectiveness of postoperative infusion pain pump versus preoperative nerve block in reducing visual analog pain scores/numerical pain rating scale (VAS/NPRS) in the postoperative period. NPRS score difference of approximately 1.5 +/- 1 (approximately 2 points) to detect clinically significant difference in pain score.