Comparing Smartphone and Community-Based Otago Exercise Program for Fall Risk

This study is comparing two ways to deliver the Otago Exercise Program (OEP), which helps reduce falls in older adults. One group will use a smartphone app called Improve to get their exercise instructions. The other group will do the OEP in person at the Johnson City Senior Center with physical therapy students and licensed physical therapists. You might be able to join if you are 55 or older, live in the community, speak English, can walk at least 10 meters, have a smartphone, and have an intermediate or high risk of falling. The main goal is to see if one method is better at improving your walking speed. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 30 participants.

Study design
This interventional study will randomly assign 30 eligible participants to either a smartphone-based or a community-based Otago Exercise Program. It is not specified if it is blinded or what phase it is in.
What's involved
You would participate in individualized 60-minute training sessions, two times per week for eight weeks. You will also complete several surveys and evaluations before and after the exercise program.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your walking speed will be measured at the beginning of the study and one week after the 8-week training period.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07433153

Comparison of Smartphone and Community-Based Delivery of the Otago Exercise Program for Fall Risk in Older Adults

Recruiting
NAAges 55+InterventionalTreatment
Binghamton University
~36 participants
Updated 2026-08-25 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Smartphone-Based InterventionGroup-Based Intervention

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Gait Velocity
Measured over Baseline (Day 0) and 1 week post-training (9 weeks later)
Frail Elderly
Fall

NCT07433153

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Binghamton University

    Binghamton, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Community-dwelling older adults 55 years of age or older
Communicate in English
Able to ambulate at least 10 meters with or without an assistive device.
Cognitively intact based on scoring 18/22 or greater on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA)-Blind during a phone screening process
Have access to an Android or iOS smartphone
Intermediate or high risk of falling, based on World Guidelines for Falls Prevention (Montero-Odasso et al, 2022)

Exclusion

Lower limb amputation
Visual impairment uncorrectable with lenses
Uncontrolled hypertension, diabetes, neurological or musculoskeletal impairment
Persistent symptoms of dizziness or lightheadedness
Spine or lower-extremity surgery in the past 12 months
Self-reported pain of \>7 on a scale of 0-10
  • Gait VelocityBaseline (Day 0) and 1 week post-training (9 weeks later)

    Self-selected walking speed (m/s) over level surface