taVNS + CCT for Neurocognitive Rehab
This study is exploring if combining transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation (taVNS) with computerized cognitive training (CCT) can improve thinking abilities and mood. taVNS involves a handheld device that stimulates a nerve in your ear, and CCT uses online brain exercises. You would self-administer these treatments at home for 10 sessions over about two weeks. Researchers will measure if people stick to the treatment, find it acceptable, and if their thinking abilities and mood improve. This study is looking for 20 participants between 45 and 80 years old who have noticed changes in their cognitive functioning and have reliable internet access.
- Study design
- This is a single-arm pilot study, meaning all 20 participants will receive the same treatment. It is not specified if this study is in a particular phase of clinical trials.
- What's involved
- You would self-administer 10 one-hour treatment sessions at home over a maximum of 14 days. This includes about 30 minutes of CCT per session. You will also have pre- and post-treatment assessments of thinking abilities and mood, and brain MRIs.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your retention in the study will be measured for approximately 6 weeks after enrollment, which includes a post-treatment assessment.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
taVNS + CCT for Neurocognitive Rehab
At a glance
Conditions
NCT07517237
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, South Carolinastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Study leadership
- Stephanie Aghamoosa, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Medical University of South Carolina
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
What this trial measures
- RetentionFrom enrollment to the V2 post-treatment assessment (approximately 6 weeks).
Percent of participants who completed all study procedures(i.e., V1 pre-treatment assessments, all 10 treatment sessions, and V2 post-treatment assessments). This will be calculated as a binary count (1=yes, 0=no) of completers divided by the total number of participants.
- Adherence10 treatments (T1-T10) over max span of 14 days.
Percent of treatment sessions completed. This will be calculated as the number of full treatment sessions completed by each participant divided by the prescribed number of sessions.
- AcceptabilityV1 (1 week pre-treatment), V2 (1 week post-treatment)
Ratings of treatment acceptability on the Theoretical Framework of Acceptability (TFA) Questionnaire. The TFA is a self-report measure on which participants rate their perceptions of treatment acceptability via 5-point Likert-scale ratings on 8 items regarding the following: affective attitude, burden, perceived effectiveness, intervention coherence, self-efficacy, opportunity costs, ethicality, and general acceptability. Item scores will be averaged (ranging from 0-5), with higher scores indicating greater intervention acceptability.