Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation for Cognitive and Motor Deficits in Parkinson's Disease

This study is testing if transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) can help improve verbal retrieval (how easily you can find words), thinking abilities, and movement control in people with Parkinson's disease. Researchers will compare active tDCS to sham tDCS (a non-active version) using a device called Neuroelectrics Starstim tES. They will look at how well participants can retrieve words and other cognitive and motor skills after treatment. You may be able to join if you are 50-90 years old, have Parkinson's disease, and experience difficulty with verbal fluency, as shown by specific neuropsychological tests. The study plans to enroll 20 participants.

Study design
This study is an interventional trial planning to enroll 20 participants. It compares active transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) to a sham (inactive) tDCS treatment.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for changes in verbal fluency at 1 week and 2 months after treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07534397

Treatment of Cognitive and Sensorimotor Deficits in Parkinson's Disease With High Definition Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation

Recruiting
NAAges 50–90InterventionalTreatment
The University of Texas at Dallas
~20 participants
Updated 2026-09-16 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:transcranial direct current stimulationSham transcranial direct current stimulation

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Treatment group differences in change from Baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment on Category Fluency
Measured over Outcome measures will be assessed as change over a period of 6 weeks: Change from baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment
+3 more outcomes measured
PARKINSON DISEASE (Disorder)

NCT07534397

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Callier Clinical Center, The University of Texas at Dallas

    Richardson, Texasstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • John Hart, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Callier Clinical Research Center, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Saul A Frankford, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Callier Clinical Research Center, The University of Texas at Dallas

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Diagnosed with PD having a verbal fluency deficit based on neuropsychological test (T-score \< 40 or a T-score \<-1.0 SD below the average T-score): Semantic Object Retrieval Test (SORT), COWAT (both letter and category fluency), Boston Naming Test (BNT), Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test (RAVLT)
50 - 90 years old
Capable of understanding and signing an informed consent (able to answer consent comprehension questions)
Fluent in speaking and reading English

Exclusion

Montreal Cognitve Assessment (MOCA) score \<23, unless an accompanying study partner/caregiver is with them and we can obtain the written consent of both the participant and the participant's accompanying study partner/caregiver (i.e., the participant's spouse, adult child, parent, or adult sibling);
history of seizures;
unexplained episodes of loss of consciousness (as these may be related to brain alterations or epilepsy);
suffering from severe or frequent headaches;
unstable or uncontrolled neuropsychiatric illness;
severe traumatic brain injury (based on the Ohio State TBI Identification; Method);
brain tumor; stroke; present drug abuse/misuse;
brain tumor;
serious or life-threatening diseases, including congestive heart failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, or active malignancy;
Huntington's disease;
stroke;
cranial implants or skull defects that affect tDCS administration;
implanted brain medical devices, including, deep brain stimulators (DBS);
implanted pacemakers;
any electrically, magnetically, or mechanically activated implants;
cardiac, neural, or medication implants;
vascular clips or other electrically sensitive support systems in the brain;
damaged skin at the sites of stimulation (the device should only be used on healthy, intact skin, as wounds may alter resistance to current);
skin conditions such as dermatitis, psoriasis, or eczema;
pregnant women;
diagnosis of just dysarthria;
anti-convulsants;
carbamazepine;
sulpiride;
pergolide;
lorazepam;
rivastigmine;
dextromethorphan;
D-cycloserine;
flunarizine;
ropinirole;
citalopram;
stimulants;
  • Treatment group differences in change from Baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment on Category FluencyOutcome measures will be assessed as change over a period of 6 weeks: Change from baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment

    valuation of treatment group differences in change on Category Fluency from baseline to 1-week post-treatment. Metric: Number of Correct Items Generated (minimum=0 words; no maximum)

  • Treatment group differences in change from Baseline to 2-months Post-Treatment on Category FluencyOutcome measures will be assessed as change over a period of 13 weeks: Change from baseline to 2-month Post-Treatment

    Evaluation of treatment group differences in change on Category Fluency from baseline to 2-months post-treatment. Metric: Number of Correct Items Generated (minimum=0 words; no maximum)

  • Treatment group differences in change from Baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment on Phonemic FluencyOutcome measures will be assessed as change over a period of 6 weeks: Change from baseline to 1-week Post-Treatment

    Evaluation of treatment group differences in change on Phonemic Fluency from baseline to 1-week post-treatment. Metric: Number of Correct Items Generated (minimum=0 words; no maximum)

  • Treatment group differences in change from Baseline to 2-months Post-Treatment on Phonemic FluencyOutcome measures will be assessed as change over a period of 13 weeks: Change from baseline to 2-months Post-Treatment

    Evaluation of treatment group differences in change on Phonemic Fluency from baseline to 2-months post-treatment. Metric: Number of Correct Items Generated (minimum=0 words; no maximum)