NOURISH: Improving Nutrition for Pregnant Women with Diabetes

The NOURISH study is looking at ways to improve nutrition for pregnant women who have type 1 or type 2 diabetes and are also experiencing food insecurity. This study will provide weekly deliveries of fresh produce from the Mid-Ohio Food Farmacy (MOF+), offer nutrition education through the Dining with Diabetes (DWD) program, and connect you with resources to address other social needs through the Health Impact Ohio Central Ohio Pathways Hub. The goal is to see if these interventions can help you achieve better blood sugar control (A1c <6.5%) before delivery. You may be able to join if you are at least 18 years old, pregnant with a single baby or twins, are between 8 and 22 weeks pregnant, have type 1 or 2 diabetes, and have screened positive for food insecurity. The study is planning to enroll 174 participants, but its current status is unclear.

Study design
This is an interventional study planning to enroll 174 pregnant women. It is not specified if it is randomized or blinded.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your A1c will be measured approximately once per trimester (every 12-14 weeks) from enrollment through 6-12 weeks postpartum.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07560813

NOURISH - A Healthcare-community Partnership to Improve Nutrition for Optimal Glycemic Control and Pregnancy Outcomes With Pregestational Diabetes

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalTreatment
Ohio State University
~174 participants
Updated 2026-08-14 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Mid-Ohio Food Farmacy (MOF+) produce deliveryNutrition education with Dining with Diabetes (DWD)Health Impact Ohio Central Ohio Pathways Hub to address unmet social needs

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
The primary clinical outcome is the proportion of participants with an A1c <6.5% before delivery.
Measured over Approximately once per trimester every 12-14 weeks betwee trial enrollment through 6-12 weeks postpartum.
Type 2 Diabetes
Type 1 Diabetes
Pregnancy, High Risk
1 sites across 1 states
Ohio1
  • Daniel Walker, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Ohio State University
  • Kartik K Venkatesh, MD, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Ohio State University
  • Christine Field, MD, MPH · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Ohio State University

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Pregnant with singleton or twin pregnancy
Gestational age \>8+0 to ≤22+6 weeks at enrollment by project EDD
Age ≥ 18 years.
Type 1 or 2 diabetes.
Screen positive for food insecurity based on answering "Often" or "Sometimes" true to either of the two questions on the USDA Hunger Vital Sign screening questions (within 12 months of enrolling in prenatal care).
English or Spanish speaking.
Willing to participate in Mid-Ohio Farmacy program and able to provide a home address to which food delivery can be provided by the Mid-Ohio Food Collective.
Hemoglobin A1c criteria:
If not taking glucagon-line peptide-1 (GLP-1) or sodium-glucose co-transporter 2 (SGLT2) medication within 12 months of enrolling in prenatal care, A1c ≥6.5% during this time period.
If taking GLP-1 or SGLT2 medication within 12 months of enrolling in prenatal care, A1c≥6.5% during the 12 months prior to initiation of these medications.

Exclusion

Involuntarily confined or detained.
Considered as having a diminished decision-making capacity.
  • The primary clinical outcome is the proportion of participants with an A1c <6.5% before delivery.Approximately once per trimester every 12-14 weeks betwee trial enrollment through 6-12 weeks postpartum.

    The primary outcome of A1c \<6.5% versus A1c ≥6.5% will be assessed according to the A1c most proximate to the time of delivery, and is consistent with current clinical guidelines to prevent adverse pregnancy outcomes for the mother and infant. The frequencies of adverse pregnancy outcomes are significantly decreased with an A1c \<6%. A1c typically will be assessed once per trimester, consistent with guidelines for the management of pregestational diabetes, and at delivery. The value closest to delivery will be used for participants with \>1 A1c value in the third trimester. The investigators will evaluate A1c using a standard assay and as an absolute percentage of total hemoglobin.