Extended Oral Antibiotics for Diabetic Fracture Patients
This study is looking into whether taking an antibiotic pill for 7 days after surgery can lower the chance of wound infection in adults with poorly controlled diabetes who have a broken bone in their leg, ankle, or foot. You might be eligible if you are 18 or older, have a lower leg fracture needing surgery, and have uncontrolled diabetes (Hemoglobin A1c greater than 7.0 or random glucose greater than 200 mg/dL). Researchers will compare a 7-day course of Cefadroxil 500 mg (or Clindamycin or Bactrim DS if needed) to standard care (no extra antibiotics after surgery). The main goal is to see if this extended antibiotic course reduces surgical site infections within 90 days and what side effects might occur. The study aims to enroll 40 participants, but its current status is unclear.
- Study design
- This interventional study plans to enroll 40 participants. It will compare a 7-day course of an oral antibiotic to standard care.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for surgical site infection for 90 days after surgery.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Extended Oral Antibiotic Prophylaxis in Diabetic Fracture Patients
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
3 sites across 2 statesWho to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Surgical site infection90 days
Incidence of superficial infection (a wound with erythema, warmth, or drainage that is treated with oral antibiotics or wound care) and deep infection (per fracture-related infection definition).