Suzetrigine for Pain After Total Knee Replacement

This study is looking at how a drug called Suzetrigine (brand name Journavx) can help reduce pain and the need for opioid medications after total knee replacement surgery. Suzetrigine works by blocking pain signals in your nerves. We are studying 75 people who are having a total knee replacement for knee arthritis. You would receive Suzetrigine along with your usual pain control after surgery. The study will measure your pain levels and how much opioid medication you use for up to three months after surgery to see if Suzetrigine is effective. This study is for adults aged 18 to 95 who are having their first total knee replacement and do not have other serious injuries or infections.

Study design
This is a single-arm study, meaning all 75 participants will receive Suzetrigine. The phase of the study is not specified.
What's involved
You would wear a wrist device to track activity and sleep, complete a survey before surgery, and keep a daily diary for 14 days after surgery. You will also receive a Suzetrigine prescription after your surgery.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your opioid consumption will be tracked for up to three months after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07624526

Role of Suzetrigine as a Part of a Multimodal Regimen to Reduce Pain and Opioid Use After Total Knee Arthroplasty

Not Yet Recruiting
PHASE4Ages 18–95InterventionalTreatment
Emory University
~75 participants
Updated 2026-06-03 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Suzetrigine

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 3 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Mean pain intensity score on the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)
Measured over Day 0-14 postoperative
+2 more outcomes measured
Knee Arthritis
Knee Osteoarthritis

NCT07624526

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 3 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Emory Clinic

    Atlanta, Georgiano site contact published

  • Emory Clinic at Executive Park

    Atlanta, Georgiano site contact published

  • Emory Orthopaedics and Spine Center

    Atlanta, Georgiano site contact published

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Ajay Premkumar, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Emory University

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patients undergoing primary total knee arthroplasty for osteoarthritis of the knee.
Patients between the ages of 18 and 95 years.

Exclusion

Patients with concurrent and significant injuries to other bones or organs.
Patients with local infections.
Minors unable to provide informed consent for participation in the study.
Subjects who, in the opinion of the investigator, may be non-compliant with study schedules or procedures.
Patients with pre-existing immune suppression, where further immune suppression with GCs could warrant unwarranted or unneeded risk.
Patients with preoperative opioid use, defined as daily use less than 4 weeks before the index surgery.
Patients with a history of severe heart disease (NYHA2), renal failure, or liver dysfunction
Patients with active peptic ulcer disease.
Patients neurological or psychiatric diseases, potentially influencing pain perception
Patients who are pregnant.
Patients with a history of alcohol or medical abuse, allergies to glucocorticoids, current daily use of glucocorticoids.
Patients who are unable to take NSAIDs.
Patients who receive Deep Venous Thrombosis (DVT) prophylaxis different than Aspirin (81mg) twice daily (BID).
Patients who have known diabetes mellitus as defined with an A1C greater than 6.5%.
Patients currently taking CYP3A inhibitors
  • Mean pain intensity score on the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)Day 0-14 postoperative

    Pain will be measured using a scale from 0 to 10, where 0 equals no pain and 10 equals the worst possible pain, using a Visual Analog Pain Scale (VAS-pain). Higher score correlates with worse outcome.

  • Average daily opioid consumptionDay 0-14 postoperative

    Postoperative opioid consumption will be quantified in morphine milligram equivalents (MME) during postoperative days 0-14.

  • Cumulative opioid consumption3 weeks and 3 months postoperative

    Postoperative opioid consumption will be quantified as cumulative MME at 3 weeks and 3 months.