Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (rTMS) for Memory Loss in Early Alzheimer's Disease

This study is exploring if repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS), a non-invasive brain stimulation, can help improve short-term memory in people with early Alzheimer's disease (AD) or mild cognitive impairment (MCI) due to AD. Researchers will compare active rTMS to a sham (inactive) rTMS to see if it works and is safe. You might be able to join if you are between 55 and 90 years old and have been diagnosed with early AD or MCI due to AD. The study will measure memory and thinking skills using tests like the MMSE, CDR, and ADAS-Cog to see if rTMS is successful. The current status of this study is unclear, and it plans to enroll 40 participants.

Study design
This interventional study plans to enroll 40 participants aged 55-90 with early Alzheimer's disease or mild cognitive impairment due to AD. It compares active repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) to a sham (inactive) rTMS.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed immediately after treatment, then at 3 months and 6 months post-rTMS.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07667478

NON-INVASIVE BRAIN STIMULATION FOR MEMORY LOSS IN EARLY ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

Recruiting
NAAges 55–90InterventionalTreatment
Chi-Ying (Roy) Lin
~40 participants
Updated 2026-06-25 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS)sham repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation rTMS

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
MMSE
Measured over immediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS
+6 more outcomes measured
Alzheimer s Disease
Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) Due to Alzheimer's Disease
Mild Dementia
1 sites across 1 states
Texas1

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

A clinical diagnosis of early AD, defined as either mild cognitive impairment (MCI) due to AD or mild dementia due to AD;
Evidence of cognitive impairment, characterized by a MMSE score between 20 and 28 and/or a CDR-Sum of Boxes score between 0.5 and 8, consistent with the contemporary definitions used in early AD in clinical trials; and
Biomarker confirmation of AD pathology, demonstrated by a positive plasma phosphorylated tau-217 (p-tau217) result according to the 2024 National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association (NIA-AA) diagnostic guidelines.

Exclusion

Individuals who have contraindications to receiving rTMS, including a history of seizures or any non-removable metal in their heads or within 12 inches of the TMS coil will be excluded.
  • MMSEimmediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) is a widely used 30-point cognitive assessment tool that helps assess domains such as orientation, memory, attention, language and visuospatial skills. It is often used in neurology, geriatrics and clinical research to screen for cognitive impairment and to monitor changes over time. The maximum score is 30 points. The minimum score is 0. A 27-30 score is considered normal range, though subtle cognitive issues may still exist. A 24-26 score may indicate mild cognitive concerns A 20-23 score may be suggestive of mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia A 10-19 score may be suggestive of moderate cognitive impairment A score of less than 10 may be suggestive of severe cognitive impairment

  • Clinical Dementia Rating scale (CDR)immediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Clinical Dementia Rating (CDR) Scale is a clinician-rated staging instrument that assesses the severity of cognitive impairment based on both patient performance and information from an informant (e.g., caregiver or family member). The maximum score is 18. The minimum score is 0. A score of 16-18 indicates severe dementia A score of 9.5-15.5 indicates moderate dementia A score of 4.5-9.0 indicates mild dementia A score of 0.5-4.0 indicates very mild impairment A score of 0 indicates no impairment

  • Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog)immediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog) is a measure of cognitive impairment. The maximum score if 70. The minimum score is 0. 0-10 Little or no detectable cognitive impairment 10-20 Mild cognitive impairment or very mild dementia 20-35 Mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease 35-50 Moderate to severe cognitive impairment \>50 Severe cognitive impairment

  • Verbal learning testimmediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Verbal Learning Test measure episodic verbal memory-the ability to learn, retain, and retrieve spoken information. The maximum score is 75. The minimum score is 0. Higher scores indicate better memory retention. 60-75 Excellent learning 45-59 Average to mildly reduced 30-44 Mild to moderate impairment 15-29 Moderate impairment 0-14 Severe impairment

  • Boston Naming Testimmediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Boston Naming Test (BNT) is a widely used neuropsychological assessment that measures confrontation naming-the ability to retrieve and produce the correct name for a visually presented object. The maximum sore is 60. The minimum score if 0. 55-60 Excellent naming ability 50-54 Average to mildly reduced 40-49 Mild naming impairment 30-39 Moderate naming impairment \<30 Significant naming impairment

  • Trail making testimmediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Trail Making Test (TMT) is a widely used neuropsychological test that measures processing speed, visual attention, sequencing, mental flexibility, and executive function. The score is the time it takes to complete the task. Lower times are better, while longer times indicate greater impairment. The minimum score is less than 30 seconds. The maximum score is greater than 300 seconds. \<30 seconds Excellent 30-45 seconds Average 46-78 seconds Mild slowing 79-120 seconds Moderate impairment \>120 seconds Significant impairment

  • Digital Spanimmediate, 3-months post rTMS, 6-months post rTMS

    The Digit Span test is a brief neuropsychological assessment that measures attention, concentration, immediate memory, and working memory. The maximum score if 9. The minimum score is 0. 7-9 digits Excellent attention 6 digits Average 5 digits Low average 4 digits Mild impairment ≤3 digits Significant impairment